3# Application: synítheia

Danish Shafi Shaikh
5 min readApr 7, 2023

from concept to reality: the journey of building synítheia

2020: seVen

The COVID-19 pandemic has given rise to many innovative ideas, and the lockdown phase has been a perfect time for budding developers to experiment with their creativity. One such idea that took shape during the lockdown is synítheia.

The idea of synítheia was initially conceived in 2020, during the lockdown phase. I initially thought to build something that would help people do things for a week, I called it seVen. I talked to one of my friends from junior college about this, and then we started working on the same.

seVen (logo)

A few days later, we just got busy with our own daily things, and then seVen died somewhere along the way.

2021–2022: 4#

Fast-forwarding back to 2022, I just started working on something with a few people close to me, let’s call it 4# for now. (it’s still being developed, hehe)

We’re keeping the development at a slow pace... but that’s a story to be talked about in a different medium article in the future.

As I continued working on 4#, my skills in Figma and React Native improved significantly. I found myself becoming more confident in my abilities to create beautiful, user-friendly interfaces and seamless app experiences.

During the pacing of 4#, I found myself revisiting an old project of mine. With my newfound skills and motivation, I decided to pick up where I left off and finally bring synítheia to life.

To keep myself organized and motivated, I wrote out synítheia as a to-do checklist for the year 2023. Seeing all the tasks laid out in front of me gave me a sense of direction and purpose that I hadn’t felt in a while. It was like a roadmap to success.

With each item checked off the list, I could feel myself getting closer and closer to my goal. And with each passing day, I became more and more passionate about bringing synítheia to life.

2023: synítheia

synítheia (logo)

To lay things out, I created a Figma design for the app’s user interface, using a combination of neouphorism and minimalism to give the app a easy and minimal look. I wanted users to be able to navigate the app easily, so I ensured that the design featured minuscule letters, black and white colors, and clear space.

Next, I started coding the app using React Native. Because performance was key, I made sure to optimize the code for speed and stability. I also implemented an authentication system using Firebase Authentication to keep the app secure and user data private.

As I worked on developing the app, I knew that testing was critical to ensure that the app was working as intended before submitting it to the Play Store. I used tools like Jest to perform multiple tests on various components of the app, including the authentication system and the user interface, to make sure everything was running smoothly.

After several rounds of testing, I finally submitted the app to the Play Store and waited anxiously for it to be approved. To my delight, the app was accepted, and people i talked with quickly liked synítheia’s guided challenges, daily prompts, progress tracking, and research-backed strategies.

Overall, it was a fantastic experience to work on synítheia, and I am proud to share that I delivered a successful project. I am eager to keep creating innovative apps that can make a positive impact on people’s lives.

synítheia future?

After successfully launching the synítheia app, I am more motivated than ever to continue working on it. As I look forward to the next phase of development, my primary goal is to make the app even more innovative and user-friendly.

To start with, I plan to add more habit modules and little systems within the app that will give users more options when it comes to forming new habits. I believe that this will help make the app more personalized and engaging for users.

One of the most exciting features that I’m looking to include in the second development phase of the app is the ability for users to form groups and communities within the app itself. This would allow users to connect with each other, share their progress, and offer support and encouragement. It will be an amazing way to build a sense of community and foster a positive environment for everyone using the app.

I also plan to expand the guided challenges offered by the app with by talking with others who have been in the same specialization for a long time, for better prompts. This will take the app to the next level, making it even more useful and effective for its users.

With these exciting features and improvements planned, I can’t wait to get started on the next phase of development. I am confident that synítheia will continue to help people transform their lives and achieve their goals. that’s pretty much all for now, dropping some links below to check out everything.

thanks for reading, fam.

links:

play store: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.danishsshaikh.synitheia

webpage: https://danishsshaikh.github.io/web-synitheia/

discord server: https://discord.com/invite/6hBFqswpus

--

--